Healthy Buttermilk Pancake Recipe

20160818_201833In my last post, I shared the recipe for my fresh and delicious raw milk herb butter. If you read the post, you may have noticed I mentioned that the leftover milk from the creaming process could be saved for buttermilk pancakes. Well, if you did happen to set some buttermilk aside, I didn’t want to leave you hanging. Below is my recipe for Healthy Buttermilk Pancakes.

Now I don’t actually own any baking ingredients, so when I do whip up something like this, it takes a bit of creativity. You’ll be happy to see these pancakes contain no white flour or refined sugars. I used ground up oats as my flour substitute, which gives them a chewier consistency. Combine this chewiness with the fluffiness endowed by the buttermilk, and the best descriptor for them is bouncy. If that doesn’t sound like your go to texture, rest assured, the taste is absolutely divine.

Healthy Buttermilk Pancakes

  • Servings: 5 four inch pancakes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

he

Ingredients

  • 1 c oats
  • 2 tbsp tapioca flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tbsp coconut oil (or some of that homemade butter!)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 c buttermilk
  • 1 banana
  • optional additions: chocolate chips, nuts, dried berries 

Directions

  •  Place oats in a blender/food processor and pulverize until a flour forms.
  • Combine oat flour, tapioca flour, baking soda, and salt in a bowl. Set aside.
  • Place coconut oil, an egg, vanilla, buttermilk, and a banana into the blender. Blend just until liquid.
  • Pour the liquid into the bowl of dry ingredients. If the banana mixture was blended too long, the consistency may be too liquid. If so, add more flour.
  • Once a lumpy, batter consistency has formed, heat a skillet to medium heat and spray with a nonstick cook spray.
  • Allow skillet to heat, then begin spooning in the pancake mixture. Create whatever size you like. My batter made 5 four inch pancakes.
  • When pancake begins to bubble, flip, and cook for an additional minute on the other side.
  • Toss pancakes on a plate and top however you see fit!

I made half of mine regular and half with chocolate chips (mostly, because I forgot I wanted chocolate chips until I was half way through cooking). To top them off, I combined some coconut oil with powdered peanut butter, drizzled it all over, and added a dollop of Tru Whip. They were sublime!

In case you were worried about my rocky love affair with Crossfit from the last post, I headed back into the gym Thursday afternoon. It had been four days since I’d crossed that threshold, which is a rare occurrence for me. Typically I can’t go two days without the burning desire to return to my weights. Although, that desire hadn’t yet re-surged, I went anyways, and I am sure glad I did. We had a huge class. The WOD was 1 RM snatch. Days like this reminded me why I love the sport so much. I was completely surrounded by support and encouragement from my fellow box mates. We are there to not only witness our own success but to help others find the drive to accomplish their’s. That is what it’s all about– high fives and higher weights!

 

 

Leave a Reply

