“I Got the Juice” and What I do with the Pulp

This morning, I set my Pandora to Childish Gambino radio and Chance the Rapper’s Juice began to blare. What a perfect tune for the occasion, because juicing was on the schedule for the day. I guess you could say, much like Chance, “I got the juice.”

Before making today’s juice, I hit the gym. Gorilla had a special WOD programmed for the day: the Other Total. If you are unfamiliar with the Total, it’s a benchmark WOD testing several one rep maxes. The original Total consists of squat, strict press, and deadlift. We tested this back in December. Today, we were working with the Other Total: clean, bench press, and overhead squat.

I was anxious to test out my maxes, and anticipated a few PRs. I hit 130 on the clean, 110 for bench, and 115 overhead squat. Sound good? Well, for me it was a complete let down. The last time we tested these totals I got 125, 110, and 115. That was way back in April, meaning in nearly a year I improved very little. I’m still going to blame the German holiday for draining my gains. Before we left, I had been working heavily on bench press and hit 120 for 2 reps, so 110 was very disappointing. As far as the overhead squat goes, I am kind of terrified to increase weight. Last year when we attempted the totals, I ended up dropping 125 pounds on the back of my neck, while attempting to press the weight from behind. We need to invent a contraption which places the bar in the overhead position, because I know I could squat far more if it was just up there. . .

Anyway, back to the juice. What better way to make up for a lackluster max test than to make some tasty and revitalizing juice. I absolutely love my juicer as a healthy lifestyle tool. It’s a great T-Fal juicer I picked up at Tuesday Morning for $40. When making juice, I prefer using more vegetables than fruit to keep the sugar content low. I also don’t believe in juice cleanses or replacing complete meals with juice. Instead, my juice is an added supplement to get extra nutrients in my diet.

I don’t make juice as often as I would like, because juicing is freaking expensive. I can sympathize with juice bars that place a $6 price tag on a cup; especially if the bulk of the juice comes from vegetables and not juicy fruit.

Today’s juice had a nice balance of vegetables and fruit. The main ingredient was three gorgeous beets that I picked up at Kroger. I then added a bag of “Power Greens” from Walmart, four carrots, a golden delicious apple, half an orange, half a cucumber, and a chunk of lemon. Beets are my favorite juice ingredient, because not only are they delicious, but they have also been shown to potentially increase endurance during exercise. I toss the whole beet in the juicer, greens and all to get the most juice out of them.

All these ingredients only produced about three cups of juice, which I sealed up in air tight mason jars, so that I may enjoy it over the next couple of days, consuming half a cup a day. It’s best to seal the juice, because allowing it to mix with oxygen may potentially cause oxidation and a decrease in nutrients.

Although juicing doesn’t produce a ton of actual juice, what is left behind is plenty of pulp. It seems like such a waste to toss out all of this great fiber, so I try to use up as much as possible. Previous tasty uses have included pulp muffins, waffles, and green tomato juice pulp salsa. This time, I decided to take another approach and try out juice pulp hummus. I added the pulp, a can of chickpeas, tahini, olive oil, lemon juice, cumin, and paprika to my food processor and blended it into a tasty snack to serve with baby carrots.

Juice pulp hummus offers a snack full of vitamins and fiber. The fiber will definitely fill you up, but be cautious, because it may cause stomach issues for some.

What are your favorite uses when you “got the juice” and a little extra pulp as well?

Juice Pulp Hummus

  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print
20170202_115104

Ingredients

  • 1 cup juice pulp
  • 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 2 tbsp tahini
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp paprika

Directions

Make your favorite juice recipe in a juicer. Reserve 1 cup of the leftover pulp and place in a food processor. Add the above ingredients and process until smooth. Serve with baby carrots, cucumbers, or crackers.

Leave a Reply

