Turning Passion into Income: I’m Making the Investment

yogaing.jpg

“Yoga brings the knowledge, passion and action together.”- Sri Sri Ravi Shankar

If you have read any of my previous posts, you may remember the piece I did about my desire to become a yoga instructor: Turning Passion into Income: Is Becoming a Yoga Instructor Worth the Investment? I discuss my first encounters with yoga at the age of eleven, and the little dream I had to one day teach others. I also mention the large investment involved in becoming an instructor. The training tuition is not cheap, and, at that time, my nearest option for classes was a two hour drive, which would have quickly eaten away at my gas money and forced me to find somewhere to stay. However, a local studio just got their yoga training accreditation, so guess who is gearing start her training? This girl!

We had our first informational session for the training last week, and I couldn’t be more excited. Not only will we learn about the poses and sequences, but we will dive into yoga philosophy, learn anatomy and alignment from a certified athletic trainer, teach actual classes, create yoga based service projects, and discuss how to build our yoga business. We are learning so much in our training, and although the first class isn’t until April 1, our head teacher, Rachel, has already assigned us a little yogi homework.

Our first assignment is to begin our yoga journal. Rachel gave us several questions to answer, and I decided to share my responses below.

  1. Why do you practice yoga?

I started attending free yoga classes at Mercer in 2015. My roommate was the instructor, so I wanted to support her (make sure the class wasn’t empty), while also doing some stretching for my sore Crossfit muscles (every muscle in my body). I started going once a week, until, my Crossfit gym started holding classes, and I began doing yoga twice a week. Then, I attended a couple of free classes from Hometown and decided to take a couple at the studio. Suddenly, I was attending up to five classes a week. Something that started as a means of fun & fitness became a way of life. 

  1. Why did you sign up for teacher training?

Although I only recently started doing yoga regularly, I went to my first class at the age of 11. My dad and I would attend classes on base, and although I could barely touch my toes, he always praised my abilities and told me I could be great at it. I envisioned a future where I was this hip college girl who taught yoga on the side. It was years before I got back on a mat, but that dream persona was always in the back of my mind, and I am enthused to have the opportunity to turn her into a reality.

  1. What are you wanting to gain from this training both personally and professionally?

I would like to enhance my personal practice by learning the true power of certain poses, the specific muscles they work and the sensations they create. Professionally, I would like to be able to teach others and profit financially from it. 

  1. What do you think will be your biggest challenge in teacher training?

My biggest challenge will be summoning the confidence to stand in front of a class and lead.

  1. What do you see as your greatest opportunity in teacher training?

I believe the training will allow me to learn so much about the practice of yoga that I will be confident enough to teach in front of others, and that I will be able to translate that confidence into other areas of my life. 

If you have your own responses to any of the above questions, I would love to hear them! Share them in the comment section.

Leave a Reply

